Predictive fiction – The Man From U.N.C.L.E.

Citizens, not serfs

The early days of television were a wonder. I sat with my father and watched American Westerns, Laramie, The Virginian, Bonanza, with awe. I followed my father’s interests and watched The Baron and The Saint, but I didn’t notice The Man From U.N.C.L.E.  until I heard my Dad laughing and came in to see what he was laughing at. An action scene featuring Ilya Kuraykin. From then on I was hooked. At school all the girls were swept away by U.N.C.L.E. And there was intense rivalry between the fans of Napoleon Solo and Ilya Kuryakin. Napoleon was too smooth to my liking, but Ilya’s low key charm was entrancing. It is the quiet ones who are interesting. Ilya was my first crush.

Just recently I wondered if The Man From U.N.C.L.E. Was worth revisiting and I looked up Wikipedia. At the time I had watched it I had never noticed…

View original post 63 more words

